Scones with Grapefruit and Cardamom

Grapefruit and Cardamom Scones

Grapefruit and Cardamom Scones

I got a little creative this past weekend and decided that Grapefruit and Cardamom would be a great combination, well, I wasn’t too far off.  Although the grapefruit out-flavored the cardamom, which if you’ve had cardamom know that’s kind of hard to do, it was still a refreshing taste.  It wasn’t too savory or too sweet.

I’m still in the process of figuring out the perfect scone recipe, so these were all-purpose flour and heavy whipping cream scones = full of gluten and full of dairy.  Did you know that between 65% and 75% of the human population is lactose intolerant?  So, I’m working on dairy free options, for the majority of the population (stay tuned on Friday).

On top of all-purpose flour, heavy whipping cream, I zested the whole grapefruit (potential reason why said scones have a stronger grapefruit flavor, but once you get zesting how do you stop when the kitchen smells so nice!), busted open 11 cardamom pods (next time I’m shooting for 15, to balance out flavor), and of course coconut oil.

I’m a big fan of coconut oil, it’s dairy free, stores well and for the sake of Skipping Scones, will package well.  I found this article about coconut oil vs. butter, very interesting.  Check it out.  This does give the scone a more crumbly texture opposed to a flaky texture, but I’ll take it if it means I can ship my product and the consumer has one less item to buy at the store.

Enjoy these:

Grapefruit and Cardamom Scones

Grapefruit and Cardamom Scones

Whatcha Thinking?

