Scones: Cherry and Walnut

mmm...all those cherries and walnuts

mmm…all those cherries and walnuts

Weekend plans?

Mine consist of “car camping” at a place called Glory Hole.  [insert snarky wussy camping or sexual joke, here]  Yea, so that’s how my 31st birthday is going down.  The upside of this unfortunate situation is that I’ll be “sipping” on some beers, enjoying heat and sun and hanging with a super fun group of people on a 3-day weekend!

 

The positives totally outweigh the negatives.

So, last weekend, I did a double whammy of scone baking.  I made some normal so-so scones and then I made these Cherry and Walnut scones, which put the grapefruit and cardamom scones to shame.  The beautiful part is they are gluten-free and dairy-free.

Consisting of oat flour, coconut oil, dried cherries and raw walnuts made them fluffy and crumbly.

cherry walnut scone 2

cherry walnut scone 3

3 thoughts on “Scones: Cherry and Walnut

  1. Glory hole?!? Hilarious!! Definitely one way to spend your 31st 🙂 I wish I was there to celebrate with you! Happy Day before you BDAY 🙂

  2. Happy birthday, Casie! I’m a terrible camper. I’m always afraid the bears will eat me. 😦

Whatcha Thinking?

