How to cater a non-girlie, co-ed baby shower

Cheesecake & Nutella Puff Pastry

Cheesecake & Nutella Puff Pastry

Options!

You need to mix sweet with not-so-sweet, you just never know with men, oh those men…

I figured a dessert bar was in order, it would enable me to add color and with different shapes and sizes of each dessert, making the table dynamic and interesting.  I came up with a menu of four options: Cheesecake bites, Nutella and puff pastry bites, caramel corn and cake push-up pops.  Lesson learned:  no-one had a clue what to do with the push-up pops, what, did these people not grow up with an ice cream truck and ice cream push-up pops?! I thought it was genius, but this will probably be the last time that I use them.  Too many questions were asked and not enough devouring.

Check out the table setting:

Note: Diaper cake made by mommy herself

Note: Diaper cake made by mommy herself

I followed this caramel corn recipe, it turned out perfect, crispy and sugary.  Next  time I’d consider adding peanuts because, if you didn’t read previous posts, peanuts (specifically peanut butter) are my favorite thing ever.  The cheesecake recipe was an iteration of this recipe, sans the sour cream.  I made the cheesecake mixture and kinda, sorta, maybe forgot the sour cream; after realizing that maybe if I didn’t have spaghetti brain and would focus long enough to read through the whole recipe I should have added it before saying “I’m done!”, but after tasting the mixture, I decided that it wasn’t necessary at all.  (Blueberries on the table were for topping off the cheesecake, if desired). Nutella bites were from this site and since I’m a trader joes fan and had piled on so much for the menu, i bought (shhhhh) their nutella, which is actually an almond and chocolate mix.  It worked perfectly!  Last but not least the cake push-pops, they were either vanilla or chocolate cake layers with whipped coconut cream, sweetened coconut, and melted chocolate.  Yes, yummy sounding, but apparently a confusing dessert, no harsh feelings at all.

Enjoy the rest of the photos:

Welcome!

Welcome!

Menu

Menu

She's Gonna Pop!

She’s Gonna Pop!

Cheesecake & Nutella bites

Cheesecake & Nutella bites

Whatcha Thinking?